News & Events

Making Sense of Surgeon Qualifications

In the world of healthcare, particularly in surgical fields, the qualifications and credentials of a surgeon can be confusing. Patients entrust their lives and well-being to these professionals, making it essential to understand the various certifications and qualifications that signify expertise and proficiency. Here we will explain three of the qualifications that you will find listed with our surgeons.

Board Certification: The Gold Standard

Board certification serves as the gold standard for confirming a surgeon’s proficiency and expertise in their respective specialty. To achieve board certification, a surgeon must undergo rigorous training and pass comprehensive examinations administered by specialty boards recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) or the American Osteopathic Association (AOA).

Board certification assures patients that a surgeon has met specific educational, training, and ethical standards set by their respective specialty board. It demonstrates a commitment to lifelong learning and excellence in patient care.

FACS: Fellow of the American College of Surgeons

The title of Fellow of the American College of Surgeons (FACS) is a prestigious designation bestowed upon surgeons who meet the stringent requirements set by the American College of Surgeons (ACS). FACS signifies a surgeon’s commitment to the highest standards of surgical practice, education, and patient care.

To become an FACS, a surgeon must be board-certified, demonstrate ethical conduct, and meet ongoing education requirements. Additionally, candidates undergo a thorough evaluation of their surgical practice, including peer reviews and adherence to ACS guidelines.

FACOS: Fellow of the American College of Osteopathic Surgeons

Similar to FACS, the designation of Fellow of the American College of Osteopathic Surgeons (FACOS) recognizes osteopathic surgeons who have achieved excellence in their field. FACOS signifies proficiency in osteopathic surgical techniques and a commitment to osteopathic principles of holistic patient care.

Osteopathic surgeons who earn FACOS status have completed rigorous training and demonstrated competency in their specialty. Like FACS, FACOS indicates a dedication to professionalism, lifelong learning, and the highest standards of patient safety and quality.

Recent Posts